For a printer friendly version of this Annual Report website plus PDFs of the rest of the document please visit the PDF download section .

Board committees
J-P Clavel
J G Colley

Regional director (Western Europe)
R J Cousins †
J S Goodall
R M Heard
M V Higson
G Rhys Williams

Regional director (Central & Eastern Europe)
P E Sydney-Smith
P N Withers

Lady Balfour of Burleigh
M Clark †
A G Gormly
F J Leibenfrost

Management remuneration
and development
M E Beckett †
A G Gormly
F J Leibenfrost
Sir John Whitehead

M E Beckett
M Clark
A G Gormly
Sir John Whitehead †

Health, safety and environment
M Clark †
A G Gormly
D C Leonard

A G Gormly
C Griffiths
Human resources manager
Sir John Whitehead †

† Committee chairman
  Allan Gormly CBE (62)
Chairman since 1997
Appointed to the Board in 1995. Chairman of Brixton Estate plc and a non-executive director of Bank of Scotland. Formerly chairman of Royal Insurance Holdings plc, deputy chairman of Royal & Sun Alliance Insurance Group plc and joint deputy chairman of Trafalgar House plc.
Allen Gormly
Richard Cousins (41)
Group chief executive since 1 April 2000
Joined the group‘s planning and business development department in 1990, becoming group financial controller in 1992 and managing director of Abertay Paper Sacks in 1996. President and CEO of Westroc Inc from February 1998 to February 2000. Appointed to the Board on 1 January 2000.

Richard Cousins
Peter Sydney-Smith (47)
Finance director since 1992
Joined the group in 1982. Finance director of British Gypsum Ltd from 1989 to 1992. Appointed regional director for Southern Africa and chairman of BPB Gypsum (South Africa) in February 1999.

Peter Sydney-Smith
Michael Beckett (63)

Non-executive director since 1992
Chairman of Horace Clarkson PLC, Watts Blake Bearne & Co Ltd and Ashanti Goldfields Company Ltd. Formerly chairman of Greycoat plc and managing director of Consolidated Gold Fields PLC.

Lady Balfour of Burleigh (54)
Non-executive director since 3 May 2000
Non-executive director of Cable and Wireless plc, Scottish American Investment Trust plc and the Scottish Life Assurance Company. Formerly a director of Midlands Electricity plc and WH Smith plc.

Mark Higson (44)
Group operations director since 3 May 2000
Joined the group in 1996 as director of operations, with additional responsibility for BPB Formula, the group’s industrial plasters division. Also appointed regional director for Northern Europe in February 1999.

John Goodall (55)
Executive director since 1996
Joined the group in 1973. Appointed chairman of BPB Paperboard in 1996, with responsibility since February 1999 for building materials operations in the Americas. A director of the group’s UK pension trustee companies.

Sir John Whitehead GCMG, CVO (67)
Non-executive director since 1995
A non-executive director of Cadbury Schweppes plc and a senior advisor to Deutsche Asset Management. Formerly British Ambassador to Tokyo (1986 to 1992) and a non-executive director of Serco Group plc.

Michael Dowdall (70)
Non-executive director since 1991
Chairman of Dairy Crest Group plc and a non-executive director of Lever (France). Formerly chairman of Geest plc and a director of Unilever plc and Unilever NV. He intends to retire from the Board at the conclusion of the annual general meeting.

Bob Heard (47)
Executive director since 1995, and group secretary
Joined the group in 1974. Appointed group secretary in 1985. A director of the group’s UK pension trustee companies and a member of the ICSA’s company secretaries’ forum.

Martin Clark (55)
Non-executive director since 1992
Formerly finance director of Caradon plc, Northern Foods plc and Associated British Foods plc.

Jean-Pierre Clavel (52)
Executive director since 3 May 2000
Joined the group in 1990 as managing director of the group’s plasterboard business in France. Appointed regional director for Southern Europe (BPB’s largest trading region) in February 1999. A former president of the council of European producers of materials for construction (CEPMC).

Paul Withers (43)
Business development director since 3 May 2000
Joined the group in 1985. Prior to his appointment to the Board, he was managing director of British Gypsum Ltd from November 1996, and regional director for Western Europe and Asia from February 1999. He remains responsible for Asia, and has additional responsibility for global business co-ordination in BPB’s emerging market sectors and for e-business developments.

Franz Leibenfrost (62)
Non-executive director since January 1999
Chairman of Solvay Österreich AG and Eisenwerk Sulzau Werfen AG. Non-executive director of Foreign & Colonial Small Companies plc and Atlas Copco Holding AG. Formerly chairman and chief executive of Custodia Holding AG, Löwenbrau AG, Veitscher Magnesitwerke AG and Semperit AG.

David Leonard (61)
Non-executive director since 1 April 2000
Joined the group in 1990 as managing director of British Gypsum Ltd. Appointed an executive director in 1995, deputy chairman of BPB Gypsum division in 1996, chief operating officer in 1997 and group chief executive from1 February 1999 to 31 March 2000.
From left to right
Michael Beckett
Lady Balfour of Burleigh
Mark Higson

From left to right
John Goodall
Sir John Whitehead
Michael Dowdall

From left to right
Bob Heard
Martin Clark
Jean-Pierre Clavel

From left to right
Paul Withers
Franz Leibenfrost
David Leonard
[ back to top ]