













(b) = member of the Treasury Committee (c) = member of the Group Executive Committee (d) = member of the Remuneration Committee (e) = member of the Audit committee

1. H Mamsch, Chairman

Helmut Mamsch, 64, joined as Chairman Designate in September 2006 and took over as Chairman in October 2006. He is a non-executive Director of both GKN plc, and Sappi Ltd (South Africa). Until 2007, he was non-executive Deputy Chairman of Logica CMG plc and a member of the Supervisory Board of K+S AG. He was formerly a non-executive Director of RMC Group plc and a Management Board member of VEBA AG (now E.ON.AG). (Chairman of the Nomination Committee) (a)

2. I Mason, Group Chief Executive

lan Mason, 47, joined the Group in February 1995 as Director of Business Development. He was appointed to the Board of Directors in July 2000 as Chief Operating Officer and was appointed Group Chief Executive in July 2001. Previously he worked for The Boston Consulting Group. In November 2007 he was appointed as a non-executive Director of The Sage Group plc. (Chairman of the Group Executive Committee) (b) (c)

3. S Boddie MA ACA, Group Finance Director

Simon Boddie, 49, joined as Group Finance Director in September 2005 from Diageo plc. He joined Diageo in 1992 where he held a variety of senior finance positions, latterly as Finance Director of Key Markets. (Chairman of the Treasury Committee) (b) (c)

4. A Auer BA MBA ACT, Non-Executive Director

Adrian Auer, 60, will be officially appointed on 1 July 2009. Adrian is Chairman of both Shanks Group plc, a leading provider of sustainable waste management solutions, and Readymix plc. He has held the

position of Finance Director in a number of major companies, notably in the building materials and construction sectors, as well as senior finance positions with BP and ICI. Until recently was an non-executive Director at Filtrona plc. In September 2007 he was appointed Chairman of Addaction, Britain's largest specialist drug and alcohol treatment charity. (a) (d) (e)

5. P Hollingworth, Non-Executive Director

Paul Hollingworth, 49, joined as a non-executive Director in May 2008. Until October 2008 he was Chief Financial Officer of Mondi Group. Previously, he was Group Finance Director of BPB plc and prior to that Group Finance Director of De La Rue plc and Ransomes plc. Currently he is a Director and Chairman of Aylesford Newsprint Holdings Limited. (Chairman of the Audit Committee with effect from Timothy Barker's retirement on 17 July 2009) (a) (d) (e)

6. R Soames, Non-Executive Director

Rupert Soames, 50, joined as a non-executive Director in July 2007. Rupert is Group Chief Executive of Aggreko plc. Previously he was Chief Executive of the Banking and Securities Division of Misys plc and a non-executive Director of Baggeridge Brick plc. (Senior Independent Director with effect from Timothy Barker's retirement on 17 July 2009) (Chairman of the Remuneration Committee with effect from Leslie Atkinson's retirement on 17 July 2009) (a) (d) (e)

7. I Haslegrave LLB ACIS, General Counsel and Company Secretary lan Haslegrave, 40, joined the Company in September 2006 from Viacom Outdoor Limited where he was International Legal Director. Previously he worked at United Biscuits Limited and Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer. (b)

Retiring directors

L Atkinson MA D.Phil, Non-Executive Director

Dr Leslie Atkinson, 65, joined as a non-executive Director in July 2000, having spent most of his career with BP where he became Chairman of BP Asia Pacific. He has also been a member of the UK Government's Central Policy Review Staff, Vice President of the Chamber of Shipping and served on the Board of the Securities and Futures Authority. His other non-executive Directorships include AEA Technology plc, Samworth Brothers (Holdings) Ltd and Witan Pacific Investment Trust plc. (Chairman of the Remuneration Committee until his retirement on 17 July 2009) (a) (d) (e)

T G Barker MA, Senior Independent Director

Timothy Barker, 69, joined as a non-executive Director in July 2000. From 1998 until his retirement in 2000, he was a Vice-Chairman of Dresdner Kleinwort Benson and from 1993 of Kleinwort Benson Group plc. In the mid-1980s he was Director General of the City Panel on Takeovers and Mergers. He is the Senior Independent Director of Drax Group plc. (Chairman of the Audit Committee and Senior Independent Director until his retirement on 17 July 2009) (a) (d) (e)