Board of Directors















05 Dr Peter Mihatsch

Non-executive Director since September 2004. A member of the Nominations Committee and the Valuations Committee. Chairman of the supervisory board of Giesecke and Devrient GmbH. A member of the supervisory boards of Vodafone GmbH, Vodafone D2 GmbH, Arcor AG and Alcatel SA. Formerly, a member of the management boards of Mannesmann AG and Mannesmann Kienzle GmbH, and Chairman of Mannesmann Mobilfunk GmbH. Aged 64.

06 Christine Morin-Postel

Non-executive Director since 2002. A member of the Audit and Compliance Committee, the Remuneration Committee and the Nominations Committee. A director of Alcan, Inc and Pilkington plc, and a member of the supervisory board of Royal Dutch Petroleum Company. Formerly Chief Executive of Société Générale de Belgique, executive Vice-President and member of the executive committee of Suez and a director of Tractabel and Fortis. Aged 58.

07 Rod Perry

Executive Director since 1999. Responsible for Venture Capital investment. Joined 3i in 1985 as an Industrial Adviser and became Head of Information Systems in 1989. Appointed to the Executive Committee in 1996. Aged 60.

01 Baroness Hogg

Chairman since 2002 and a non-executive Director since 1997. Chairman of the Nominations Committee and the Valuations Committee. Chairman of Frontier Economics Limited. Deputy Chairman of GKN plc and a director of BG Group plc, and Carnival Corporation and plc. A Governor of the London Business School and a member of the Financial Reporting Council. From 1995 to 2002 Chairman of Foreign & Colonial Smaller Companies PLC. Formerly Head of the Prime Minister's Policy Unit. Aged 58.

02 Oliver Stocken

Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director since 2002 and a non-executive Director since 1999. Chairman of the Audit and Compliance Committee and of the trustees of the 3i Group Pension Plan. A member of the Nominations Committee, the Remuneration Committee and the Valuations Committee. Chairman of Rutland Trust plc. A director of GUS plc, Pilkington plc, The Rank Group plc, Standard Chartered plc and Stanhope plc. Formerly Finance Director of Barclays plc. Aged 63.

03 Philip Yea

Chief Executive and executive Director since joining the Company in July 2004. A member of the Nominations Committee and the Valuations Committee. Formerly Managing Director within the private equity business of Investcorp. A former Finance Director of Diageo plc and former non-executive director of HBOS plc and Manchester United PLC. Aged 50.

04 Simon Ball

Group Finance Director from April 2005 and member of the Executive Committee, joining the Company in February 2005. A member of the Valuations Committee. A non-executive director and Chairman of the audit committee of Leica Geosystems AG. Formerly, Director General Finance at the Department for Constitutional Affairs, Group Finance Director of Robert Fleming and Chief Operating Officer (UK) of Dresdner Kleinwort Benson. Aged 45.







08 Michael Queen

Executive Director since 1997. Responsible for Growth Capital investment with effect from 1 April 2005. Joined 3i in 1987. From 1994 to 1996 seconded to HM Treasury. Appointed Group Financial Controller in 1996, and Finance Director and a member of the Executive Committee in 1997. Ceased to be Finance Director on assuming responsibility for Growth Capital investment. A non-executive Director of Northern Rock plc. Past Chairman of the British Venture Capital Association. Aged 43.

09 Danny Rosenkranz

Non-executive Director since 2000. Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Compliance Committee and the Nominations Committee. Chairman of Foseco (Jersey) Limited and Pecaso Limited. Formerly Chief Executive of The BOC Group plc. Aged 59.







10 Sir Robert Smith

Non-executive Director since September 2004. A member of the Audit and Compliance Committee, the Remuneration Committee and the Nominations Committee. Chairman of Weir Group plc and Scottish & Southern Energy plc. A nonexecutive director of Aegon UK plc and Standard Bank Group Limited. Formerly, a non-executive director of the Financial Services Authority and Bank of Scotland plc, Chief Executive of Morgan Grenfell Asset Management and a member of the Financial Reporting Council. Aged 60.

11 Fred Steingraber

Non-executive Director since 2002 and a member of the Nominations Committee and the Remuneration Committee. A director of Maytag Corporation, Elkay Manufacturing, and John Hancock Financial Trends Fund. A member of the Board of Governors of The Chicago Stock Exchange and of the supervisory board of Continental AG. Formerly, Chairman and Chief Executive of AT Kearney, Inc, and a director of Lawter International, Inc and Mercury Finance, Inc. Aged 66.







Other members of Executive Committee

12 Tony Brierley

Company Secretary since 1996. Responsible for the Group's legal, compliance, internal audit and company secretarial functions. Chairman of the Corporate Responsibility Committee. Joined 3i in 1983. Appointed to the Executive Committee in 1996. Aged 55.

13 Denise Collis

A member of the Executive Committee since November 2004. Responsible for Human Resources. Joined 3i in November 2004. Formerly HR Partner at Ernst & Young. Aged 47.

14 Chris Rowlands

A member of the Executive Committee since 2002. Responsible for Group Markets. Joined 3i in 2002 having previously been employed by 3i from 1984 to 1996. A non-executive director of Principality Building Society. Formerly a Partner of Andersen. Aged 48.

15 Jonathan Russell

A member of the Executive Committee since 1999. Responsible for Buyout investment. Joined 3i in 1986. Chairman of the European Private Equity and Venture Capital Association Buyout Committee. Aged 44.

16 Paul Waller

A member of the Executive Committee since 1999. Responsible for Funds. Joined 3i in 1978. Past Chairman of the European Private Equity and Venture Capital Association. Aged 50.