

# The Board

### 1 R A Lawson MA MBA, Non-Executive Chairman

Bob Lawson, 57, joined as Group Managing Director in April 1991 and was the Group Chief Executive from April 1992 until his retirement in July 2001 when he was appointed Chairman Designate. He held this position until his appointment as Non-Executive Chairman in November 2001. He is a qualified engineer with a business degree and has worked in several United Kingdom and continental groups. He was Sales Director of RS Components Limited from 1979 to 1987 and then spent five years as Managing Director of Vitec Group plc. He is Non-Executive Chairman of Hays plc.

(Chairman of the Nomination Committee)(a)

# 2 I Mason MBA, Group Chief Executive

lan Mason, 40, joined the Group in February 1995 as Director of Business Development, and was responsible for the establishment of RS Japan and e-Commerce. He was appointed to the Board of Directors in July 2000 as Chief Operating Officer and had responsibility for all RS trading activities and e-Commerce. He was appointed Group Chief Executive in July 2001. Previously he worked as a Management Consultant for The Boston Consulting Group. (Chairman of the Group Executive Directors Committee)[b][c]

## 3 J L Hewitt MA FCA MBA, Deputy Chairman and Group Finance Director

Jeff Hewitt, 54, joined as Group Finance Director in November 1996 from Unitech plc where he was Finance Director. He joined Unitech in 1991 from Coats Viyella plc where he was Group Strategy Director and a Divisional Chairman. He has worked for The Boston Consulting Group and Arthur Andersen & Co. He is also a Non-Executive Director of The Roxboro Group plc.

(Chairman of the Treasury Committee)(b)(c)

# 4 R B Butler FCIS, Chief Process Officer

Richard Butler, 42, joined the Group as Company Secretary in August 1987 from Bowthorp Holdings plc, now Spirent plc. He was appointed to the Board in July 2000 and is responsible for the Group operational processes. (c)

### 5 F D Lennertz Dr.-Ing, Non-Executive Director

Dieter Lennertz, 65, joined as a Non-Executive Director in August 1995. He is a telecommunications engineer who spent three years in the Netherlands and fourteen in France working for the European Space Agency. He joined Telenorma GmbH (Bosch Group) in 1983 and until 1995 was Chief Executive of this telecom company. He is currently Chairman or member of various supervisory or advisory boards. He is a lecturer at the European Business School in Germany. (a)(d)

The operational management of the Group is delegated by the Board to the Group Executive Directors' Committee. The day-to-day operations of the Group are managed by the Group Executive Management Team which consists of the Executive Directors and the Regional and Process heads. It meets each month and in full each quarter.



# 6 D S Winterbottom FCA FCT FRSA, Senior Non-Executive Director

David Winterbottom, 65, joined as a Non-Executive Director in November 1990. He was Chief Executive of Evode Group plc and is Chairman of Hill & Smith Holdings plc, CPL Industries Ltd and Wightlink Shipping Ltd.

(Chairman of the Audit Committee)(a)(d)(e)

# 7 K Hamill BA FCA, Non-Executive Director

Keith Hamill, 49, joined as a Non-Executive Director in July 1999. He has held several senior finance positions, including Finance Director of WH Smith, Forte, and United Distillers. He was also a partner in PricewaterhouseCoopers. He is Chairman of Luminar plc, Collins Stewart PLC and Go Limited and is a Non-Executive Director of TDG plc and Cadmus Communications Corporation. He is also Treasurer of Nottingham University. (a)(d)(e)

#### 8 N J Temple Non-Executive Director

Nick Temple, 54, joined as a Non-Executive Director in September 1996. He is a Non-Executive Director of Fox IT Ltd and Auxinet Group plc and is Chairman of Blick plc, Tax Computer Systems Ltd and Retail Business Solutions Ltd. He was Chairman and CEO of IBM UK Ltd and Vice-President of Sales and Marketing in IBM Europe, Middle East and Africa. (a)(d)(e)

- a = member of the Nomination Committee
- b = member of the Treasury Committee
- c = member of the Group Executive Directors' Committee

## 9 L Atkinson Non-Executive Director

Dr Leslie Atkinson, 58, joined as a Non-Executive Director in July 2000, having spent most of his career with BP where he became Chairman of BP Asia Pacific. He has also been a member of the UK Government's Central Policy Review Staff, Vice President of the Chamber of Shipping and served on the Board of the Securities and Futures Authority. His other Non-Executive Directorships include AEA Technology plc and Foreign and Colonial Pacific Investment Trust plc.

(Chairman of the Remuneration Committee)(a)(d)(e)

# 10 T G Barker Non-Executive Director

Timothy Barker, 62, joined as a Non-Executive Director in July 2000. From 1998 until his retirement in 2000, he was a Vice-Chairman of Dresdner Kleinwort Benson and from 1993 of Kleinwort Benson Group plc. In the mid-1980s he was Director General of the City Panel on Takeovers and Mergers. Currently he is Chairman of Kleinwort Benson Private Bank and Robert Walters plc. (a)(d)(e)

# 11 C Carfora FCIS, Company Secretary

Carmelina Carfora, 38, joined the Company in 1989 from BTR plc. She was appointed Company Secretary in September 1996. (b)

- d = member of the Remuneration Committee
- e = member of the Audit Committee